What Are Washington’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?

Drivers in Washington are not only required to have car liability insurance but it is also a smart way to protect you and your assets. If you are responsible for an accident, liability coverage pays for the damages and injuries you cause to others. It also covers the injured party’s lost wages and their pain and suffering. Liability insurance also covers your legal defense if you’re sued because of a car accident.

What Kind Of Car Insurance Is Required in Washington?

Insurance limits are the amount your insurance company will pay in the event of a claim. Minimum liability limits are set by each state and are normally split into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage. Washington law sets the minimum liability limits at 25/50/10. Meaning:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons
  • $10,000 for property damage liability coverage

You would be smart to buy more than Washington’s minimum car insurance requirements. If you are found at-fault in an accident and the bills are more than the insurance limits you purchased, you are responsible for the rest. If you have assets like savings, a house, or a job (wage garnishment), it would be a good idea to buy higher policy limits.

Unlike some states, such as our neighbor Oregon, Washington does not require Uninsured Motorist or PIP Medical to be purchased. These are the coverages that protect you, your passengers, and your car — so it is your choice if you wish to protect yourself.

Get Insured Today!

If you are needing broadform insurance, call and talk to one of our insurance professionals directly at (509)783-5600 or fill out the quote form and we will get the quote started and call you. We are happy to offer straightforward advice and discuss your insurance options.

Article Source: Mid-Columbia Insurance Agency